Lady Tan's Circle of Women: A Novel (Hardcover)

Lady Tan's Circle of Women: A Novel By Lisa See Cover Image

Lady Tan's Circle of Women: A Novel (Hardcover)

$28.00


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 14 4:22pm
(FICTION)
*NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!*

From “one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot” (The New York Times Book Review) an immersive historical novel inspired by the true story of a woman physician in 15th-century China—perfect for fans of Lisa See’s classics Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane.

According to Confucius, “an educated woman is a worthless woman,” but Tan Yunxian—born into an elite family, yet haunted by death, separations, and loneliness—is being raised by her grandparents to be of use. Her grandmother is one of only a handful of female doctors in China, and she teaches Yunxian the pillars of Chinese medicine, the Four Examinations—looking, listening, touching, and asking—something a man can never do with a female patient.

From a young age, Yunxian learns about women’s illnesses, many of which relate to childbearing, alongside a young midwife-in-training, Meiling. The two girls find fast friendship and a mutual purpose—despite the prohibition that a doctor should never touch blood while a midwife comes in frequent contact with it—and they vow to be forever friends, sharing in each other’s joys and struggles. No mud, no lotus, they tell themselves: from adversity beauty can bloom.

But when Yunxian is sent into an arranged marriage, her mother-in-law forbids her from seeing Meiling and from helping the women and girls in the household. Yunxian is to act like a proper wife—embroider bound-foot slippers, recite poetry, give birth to sons, and stay forever within the walls of the family compound, the Garden of Fragrant Delights.

How might a woman like Yunxian break free of these traditions and lead a life of such importance that many of her remedies are still used five centuries later? How might the power of friendship support or complicate these efforts? A captivating story of women helping each other, Lady Tan’s Circle of Women is a triumphant reimagining of the life of one person who was remarkable in the Ming dynasty and would be considered remarkable today.
Lisa See is the New York Times bestselling author of The Island of Sea WomenThe Tea Girl of Hummingbird LaneSnow Flower and the Secret FanPeony in LoveShanghai GirlsChina Dolls, and Dreams of Joy, which debuted at #1. She is also the author of On Gold Mountain, which tells the story of her Chinese American family’s settlement in Los Angeles. See was the recipient of the Golden Spike Award from the Chinese Historical Association of Southern California and the Historymaker’s Award from the Chinese American Museum. She was also named National Woman of the Year by the Organization of Chinese American Women.
Product Details ISBN: 9781982117085
ISBN-10: 1982117087
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English
"Despite the inordinate limits placed on women, See allows their strengths to dominate their stories"
Washington Post

"Lady Tan’s Circle of Women has everything you could want in a dramatic tale of female friendship."
—Katie Couric Media

"Based on the writings of an historical Ming dynasty female physician, See’s accomplished novel immerses readers in a fascinating life lived within a fascinating culture."
—Booklist (starred review)

"Engrossing…rich…packed with historical detail…Women’s friendships in a world where they have little freedom shape a quietly moving book."
—Kirkus Reviews
 

Praise for Lisa See 

"See is one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot."
New York Times Book Review

Praise for Island of Sea Women

“Vivid ... thoughtful and empathetic ... necessary."
New York Times Book Review

“Lisa See’s mesmerizing new historical novel…celebrates women’s strengths—and the strength of their friendships.”
O, The Oprah Magazine

“Painstakingly researched…deft…a powerful and essential story of humanity.” 
—The Los Angeles Review of Books

"Compelling ... takes readers on a journey spanning generations — in this case 1938 to 2008 — as moments of cherished friendship, unspeakable tragedy and, in the end, a plot twist worthy of Raymond Chandler unfold."
Associated Press